the great pumpkin

In the spirit of Autumn and Halloween, I couldn’t help but dive head first into the wonderful world of pumpkin. I’ve already mentioned how much I love apples, but pumpkin is a close second.

It’s a flavor I save exclusively for this time of year. Soon, as we near closer to Thanksgiving, my mom will start making batch after batch of her famous pumpkin-chocolate-chip bread to be wrapped in shiny silver foil and given to every acquaintance to come in contact with our family. By the new year, we are all sick of the spicy smell of pumpkin bread baking in the oven, but (since we don’t even consider eating it until the Fall), come November it’s a welcome treat.

This is my long winded way of saying that last week I decided to start making pumpkin dishes. I took my little pumpkin and (after taking a few photos) pureed it until it was a brilliant orange mush. And because I didn’t want to bake the traditional ‘Libby’s pumpkin pie’ until Thanksgiving, I made this southern interpretation from dear Martha. I also gave this Pumpkin Spiced Bundt Cake a whirl.

So thank you dear little gourd. You really were quite delicious!

P.S. This was from my last roll of black and white film. I’ve bought a roll a roll of color film so this blog will become a little more colorful in the future 🙂

One thought on “the great pumpkin

Leave a Reply

